Medical Advisory Board

Great companies are built around great people, at HBSUK this is no different.

Gary Bolger, a GP and Public Health Consultant, is an AXA legend, having served as their Chief Medical Officer for around 20 years. Garry is part of the HBSUK Medical Advisory Board and part of the Executive Team.

Dr Gary Bolger

MAB Chairman

Dr Nazir has over 21 years of experience working in general practice, currently working as a general medical practitioner at Hall Green Health in Birmingham. Alongside his work as a GP, he has held prominent roles locally and nationally. He is currently Chief Clinical Information Officer (CCIO) at NHS Birmingham & Solihull ICB.

Dr Masood Nazir

Non-Executive Director

Mark is an orthopaedic surgeon in Leeds. As clinical director he established the elective orthopaedic unit in Leeds and subsequently held national roles at the NHS Institute in both quality improvement and patient safety.

He is passionate about improving access for patients and the quality and value of elective services.

Mark Emerton

Chief Medical Officer

Specialty Clinical Leads

Former President of the British Association of Dermatologists.
Mark practices in general dermatology with an interest in the diagnosis and management of systemic diseases, skin cancer and paediatric dermatology. He works closely with other disciplines in clinical and laboratory research in these areas.

Prof Mark Goodfield


Daniel is a consultant cardiologist. He is the highest volume operator in coronary intervention in Leeds. ​

Daniel is leading the Leeds Programme in valvular intervention. He also has a broad interest in all areas of general cardiology including chest pain, palpitation, hypertension and arrhythmias.

Prof Daniel Blackman


Paul has vast experience in MSK leadership and management. He has undertaken various specialty and clinical lead roles including Clinical Director of MSK Strategy and Transformation and MSK Clinical Lead for Surrey Heartlands STP. He is also a Cofounder of the Surrey Orthopaedic Clinic.

Paul Trikha

Trauma & Orthopaedics

Paul is a consultant ENT surgeon. He has won a number of awards and prizes for his contribution to the field of ENT, such as the Silver National Clinical Excellence Award from the NHS, the British Medical Association ENT Book Prize, the Cutler’s Surgical Prize by the City of London and The George Davey Howells Memorial Prize from the University of London.

Paul Montgomery


Elected as Chairman of Medicine at St Mark’s in 2007 and appointed Chairman of the Medical Advisory Committee at The Clementine Churchill Hospital in 2010 for five years.

As the Concertmaster for the European Doctors Orchestra, Max is also an accomplished violinist.

Dr Max Pitcher


Stephen Mitchell


Experienced in all aspects of rheumatology, Jeremy has a particular interest in sports medicine, soft tissue injuries and rehabilitation medicine. Jeremy has experience in research and has written articles for physiotherapy journals and for the British Journal of Rheumatology.

Dr Jeremy Axon

MSK Rheumatology

Bernard is the President of The Royal College of Ophthalmologists. He has been a Consultant Ophthalmologist for 17 years. He is also an Honorary Senior Lecturer at the University of Leeds. Bernard works with NHSE on the National Outpatients Transformation Programme and was clinical lead on the CRG for the National Artificial Eyes Service until 2019.

Prof Bernie Chang


Dr Tom Hayton